## GOVERNMENT ORGANIZATIONS

and setting out alternative proposals respecting the boundaries of electoral districts in each province. These maps are supplied to the 10 electoral boundaries commissions (one for each province) established under the provisions of the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act (RSC 1970, c.E-2). The Representation Commissioner is a member of each of the 10 commissions. The Secretary of State acts as spokesman for the Office in the Cabinet and the House of Commons.

Panarctic Oils Ltd. This corporation is a consortium of oil and gas companies, individuals and the federal government formed in 1967 to explore for oil and gas in the Arctic area. Panarctic Oils Ltd. is not a Crown corporation and does not report to Parliament.

**Pension Appeals Board.** This Board, established under the Canada Pension Plan Act (RSC 1970, c.C-5) hears appeals under the Canada Pension Plan and under certain provincial pension plans. The Board consists of a judge of the Federal Court of Canada or of a superior court of a province appointed as chairman and not less than two and not more than five other persons, each of whom must be a judge of the Federal Court or of a superior, district or county court of a province. For purposes of appeals under the Canada Pension Plan, the Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of National Health and Welfare.

**Pension Review Board**. The Pension Review Board was created under the Minister of Veterans Affairs by the amendments to the Pension Act 1971 (SC 1970-71, c.31). Composed of a chairman and four other members, the Board is an independent and autonomous body that hears appeals from pension applicants dissatisfied with decisions of an Entitlement Board or two members of the Canadian Pension Commission. The Board is also the responsible body when matters of interpretation of the Acts are at issue.

**Pilotage Authorities.** The Pilotage Act (SC 1971, c.52) established the Atlantic Pilotage Authority, the Laurentian Pilotage Authority, the Great Lakes Pilotage Authority and the Pacific Pilotage Authority as proprietary corporations as specified in Schedule D of the Financial Administration Act. The objects of each Authority are to establish, operate, maintain and administer in the interests of safety an efficient pilotage service within the region set out in respect of the Authority. Each of the four Authorities has a chairman and not more than six other members appointed by the Governor in Council for a term not exceeding 10 years. The Pilotage Authorities report to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

**Post Office Department**. Administration and operation of the Canada Post Office, by virtue of the Post Office Act (RSC 1970, c.P-14) and under the Postmaster General, includes all phases of postal activity, personnel, mail handling, transportation of mails by land, water, rail and air and the direction and control of financial services including the operation of the money order service.

The Department's headquarters is located in Ottawa, with regional headquarters in Halifax, Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver. District offices are located in St. John's, Halifax, Saint John, Quebec City, Montreal, Ottawa, North Bay, Toronto, London, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Edmonton and Vancouver.

**Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration (PFRA).** The PFRA was established in 1935 (RSC 1952, c.214) to assist in the rehabilitation of agricultural lands seriously affected by drought and soil drifting in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta. Since then it has turned 2.5 million acres of marginal and submarginal land into community pastures and has been instrumental in the construction of many large irrigation and water-control projects. At the farm level, the PFRA has assisted 100,000 dugout projects for irrigation, stock-watering and domestic water supplies. It has also distributed up to 10 million seedlings a year for farm shelterbelts. As an entity within the Department of Regional Economic Expansion, the PFRA has the additional responsibility of implementing certain departmental programs in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba.

**Privy Council Office**. For administrative purposes, the Privy Council Office is regarded as a department of government under the Prime Minister. The Clerk of the Privy Council, under whose direction its functions are carried out, is considered as a Deputy Head and takes precedence among the chief officers of the Public Service. The authority of the Privy Council Office is to be found in Sections 11 and 130 of the British North America Act, 1867, which constituted a Council to aid and advise in the Government of Canada to be styled the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. In 1940, with the wartime development of Cabinet committees and the consequent need for orderly secretarial procedures such as agenda, explanatory memoranda and minutes, the Principal Secretary in the Prime Minister's Office was designated Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet. Since 1946, the Privy Council Office has been further reorganized, developed and enlarged and certain administrative functions of the Privy Council Office and the Prime Minister's Office have been closely integrated in the interests of efficiency and economy.

The organization of the Privy Council Office at present consists primarily of the Cabinet Secretariat with the following divisions reporting to the Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet: Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Operations); Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Plans); and Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Federal-Provincial Relations). Within the Privy Council Office, submissions to the Governor in Council are received, draft orders and regulations prepared, approved Orders are circulated and, in addition, the duties of editing, registering and publishing the federal statutory regulations in Part II of the Canada Gazette are carried out. The various secretaries deal with secretarial work for the Cabinet and